Skip to content

The Complete Poems



Ships in 4 to 7 days

Author: Bronte, Emily
ISBN: 9780140423525
Publisher: Penguin UK
Year First Published: 1992
Pages: 352
Dimensions: 199mm x 135mm x 20mm
Format: Paperback / softback

The poems of Emily Jane Bronte are passionate and powerful works that convey the vitality of the human spirit and of the natural world. Only twenty-one of her poems were published during her lifetime – this volume contains those and all others attributed to her. Many poems describe the mythic country of Gondal and its citizens that she imagined with Anne, and remain the only surviving record of their joint creation. Other visionary works, including ‘Remembrance’ and ‘No coward soul is mine’, boldly confront mortality and anticipate life after death. And poems such as ‘Redbreast early in the morning’ and ‘The blue bell is the sweetest flower’ evoke the wild beauties of nature she observed on the Yorkshire moors, while also examining the state of her psyche.